jump to navigation

Me and my new 1.8 ton PC December 20, 2006

Posted by Andreas in Environment, Sustainable Living, Work.
trackback

I recently got a new computer at work. You know the story: my old PC was getting really slow, clunky and increasingly troublesome. The new arrival is black and silver and shiny.

It works well and has all the latest software and ports and things, but when I look at it it already seems to have “Made to be Redundant” stamped on its proverbial forehead. In a couple of years, it too will be out of date and on its last legs.

Just after I got my new PC, I was plenty shocked to find out that it takes a whopping l.8 tons of raw materials to manufacture the average desktop with 17-inch monitor.

Here’s the break-down:

  • at least 240 kilograms of fossil fuels
  • 22 kilograms of chemicals
  • 1500 kilograms of water.

Sobering, ne! I will definitely think four times before getting a new PC in future. “Upgrade, upgrade, upgrade” is my new mantra and when all else fails, there is of course always Freecycle (Freecycle Cape Town) and your friendly local e-waste centre.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

