jump to navigation

Facebooking across the universe? May 30, 2007

Posted by Andreas in Facebook, Life, Society.
trackback

Ok, after a considerable amount of peer-group pressure from my friends, IT and media geeks that they are, I have finally joined Facebook – together with all the rest of South Africa it would seem.

I’m still not 100% sure why I did (Walton wrote a good blog entry on some of the issues here), but I’m sure something good will come of it. I’ve kind of always thought of myself as a bad friend, so maybe it will help a bit with that, haha…

I have to admit that I’m feeling the generation gap gaping behind me with all of this social networking stuff, but I’ll give it a try. So now I’m out there making “friends” with actual friends, people I’ve met before and folks I don’t know from a bar of soap.

Is this the end of face-to-face in-the-flesh social interaction? Actually I’m hoping facebooking will enhance my real-word social life. We’ll see…

Comments»

1. Tyler - May 30, 2007

Andreas, I don’t think it’s the end of face-to-face interaction. In fact Facebook aids my face-to-face interaction. I have met up with old friends again and made new contacts as well. I also use Facebook as an environment to keep in touch with other bloggers, as blogs aren’t always a suitable place for every conversation.

So I guess, unless your going to be sitting behind a screen the whole day and not getting up to meet the people you meet on Facebook then yes, it will be the end of you face-to-face interaction. Lol.

2. Andreas - May 30, 2007

Thanks Tyler, so far I have had only positive experiences and I agree with you about Facebook enhancing my real-world social life.

3. Ian - May 30, 2007

Glad you’re enjoying it 🙂 You should read http://redstarcoven.blogspot.com/2007/05/facebook-face-of-beast.html, as well as the comments and links to that post.


Leave a Reply

