jump to navigation

I wanna be a suburban farmer! April 30, 2009

Posted by Andreas in Cape Town, Gardening, Life, South Africa, Sustainable Living, Urban Agriculture.
trackback

After my visit to Harvest of Hope I was really inspired to start getting our own garden into some sort of shape. I have long been fascinated by the idea of urban agriculture and the promise of a degree of food self-sufficiency and although I have spent some time in the past trying to apply what I’ve learned about these things in books and online in our home, our garden has fallen into a state of what I’d suggest is benevolent neglect.

My somewhat neglected attempt at a miniature food forest

My somewhat neglected attempt at a miniature food forest

That’s all going to change. One of the motivations for quitting my regular job a year ago was to start growing more of our own food and although my parenting and job commitments will keep me busy, I’m planning to do just that. Slowly, one baby-step at a time. I’ll keep you up to date with my progress.

Expanses of water-thirsty but unproductive lawn...

Expanses of water-thirsty, unproductive lawn...

Just for the record, here are some more pics of our garden from January 2009. Hopefully I’ll be able to report on gradual improvements as time goes by.

Comments»

1. mothercityliving - April 30, 2009

Good on you! If I had more space than the few sun-following pots I have in my tiled (rented) front yard, I’d be hoping to join the suburban farmer ranks too. You may have encountered them before, but if you haven’t already, you’ll definitely find inspiration at Little Homestead in the City, an urban homestead in Pasadena, California (http://urbanhomestead.org/). Their complete transformation of a regular lawn-covered urban dwelling into a thriving, sustainable organic garden has inspired people all around the world to start doing the same. One of the one I’ve been following locally is http://its-our-life-for-six.blogspot.com/ – someone who decided not to wait for the dreamed for plot of land, and go for it, right now, in the city.

Good luck with your suburban gardening!

2. Andreas - April 30, 2009

Thanks! I know about the Little Homestead. Actually I recently got a copy of their short documentary. It’s called Homegrown Revolution and is quite fun. Will go and check out the other link.

Andreas


Leave a Reply

