jump to navigation

Cat-proofing veggie beds May 21, 2009

Posted by Andreas in Gardening, Life, Organic Food, South Africa, Sustainable Living, Urban Agriculture.
trackback

I built a couple of raised beds for growing veggies in a small corner behind our house some time ago. The main problem with them has been that our cat, Perry, has been using them as her toilet. Not good for growing food and really smelly, too! She has her own “facilities” right next to the beds, but I guess she finds them less convenient, so I set about trying to cat-proof the beds.

I cleaned up the beds and installed shade netting to keep Perry out of them. Here's the culprit inspecting my handiwork

I cleaned up the beds and installed shade netting to keep Perry out of them. Here's the culprit inspecting my handiwork

Veggie garden in cat exclusion mode! Of course in summer the shade netting will also help to keep out the scalding sun.

Veggie garden in cat exclusion mode! Of course in summer the shade netting will also help to keep out the scalding sun.

My efforts seem to have been reasonably successful, although keeping the cat out of the beds completely is never going to happen. I did sow some stuff in the beds and we’ve already harvested some beans.

Success!

Success!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

